cooking & meal prepping

Happy Monday, everyone! I want to share some healthy meals as a reminder to always stay meal-prepared, so you can nourish yourself properly no matter what gets in the way! Do any of you ever find yourself forgetting that you have ingredients or already prepped food in the fridge? That happens to me all the time! By midweek, I’m worrying about what I should eat for dinner. Then, I realize I have some shrimp in the freezer or another piece of uncooked sirloin. Writing my meals into my calendar has really helped so I don’t have to keep thinking about it during my day. During my dietetic internship, I learned a lot from being on a budget and carefully plan each meal for myself. I was in mindset of challenging myself to stay as healthy as I can, while being thrifty about it. Of course it’s still handy to do now post-RD. 😉

“Continuing to do the same things in the same way will reinforce keeping the same health problems because many of those usual, comfortable habits are often what created the ill health in the first place.”

IMG_3889

I’ve been really loving salads lately.  One day I had left over shredded cheese I bought for quesadillas and my roommate just said “you should put some in your salad” and it was the most genius thing anyone ever told me!! I know it’s a pretty common thing, but it was new to me as far as meal prepping goes. I usually avoid adding toppings to my salads, but this is an absolutely great way to eat more salad and enjoy it more. I added about 1 ounce of colby jack cheddar cheese (this is what I already had, but I would choose other shredded cheeses such as gouda or parmesan  next time). Also mixed in some shredded carrots, sliced cucumbers and spring mix lettuce, which I bought bagged from the market. I mixed in a bag of shredded carrots because those prepackaged salad bags never have enough carrots! Just trying to get my vitamin A up : ).  If you don’t like cheese, there are other toppings you can add to any salad such as cherry tomatoes, chopped raw zucchini, nuts (shaved almonds, peanuts, walnuts or pistachios) and seeds (pepita, sunflower, or sesame). The options are endless. Please ask for more options if you are interested!

IMG_3891

Anotherrrr salad I fell in love with this week was inspired by a recipe I made during my rotation at the Community Food Bank.

garbanzo steak 003

garbanzo steak 001

 

 

Here are some other Breakfast / Dinner meals I made (on a budget as an intern): Spinach Omelet & Veggies, 5 oz Ribeye Steak with Spinach & Cucumbers,  Eggs with Mini Bagel (this was a meal for two :P)

Leave a comment