staying cool with summer protein salads

In a mason jar! Lately, I’ve been using mason jars for everything — my morning coffee, growing herbs, diced fruits, yogurt parfaits, and now my cool salad lunches! This was especially convenient for the day I had during a rotation where I was on the road travelling from to site to site. I actually ate my salad in the car!

I used simple, affordable ingredients for this salad.

  1. Start with pouring your choice of dressing into the jar. I added just 1-2 teaspoons of sesame dressing at the bottom.
  2. 1/2 cup romaine lettuce – the lettuce leaves are bulky enough so that they sit on top of the salad dressing, but aren’t drenched in it.
  3. 1/2 cup garbanzo beans – I simply boiled a bag of dried chickpeas and boiled them for two minutes and left them covered in the pot to soak in the hot water for an hour {as instructed on the bag}. The texture of these came out harder than canned garbanzo beans, which I didn’t mind. If you prefer them more cooked down, just boil them longer. A 1/2 cup of garbanzo beans has about 20g of protein!
  4. Lastly, top off with 4 oz of protein – preferably one that you enjoy eating cold such as cooked shrimp or chicken. Then, add a boiled egg if you like but even without it, there’s plenty of protein!

2 thoughts on “staying cool with summer protein salads

Leave a comment