mardi gras mmxv

In light of Mardi Gras this year on February 9th, I wanted to share my experience in New Orleans, LA from the previous year. This time last February, I went to NOLA for a business trip that coincidentally fell on the weekend of Valentine’s Day, so Jj and I didn’t get to celebrate our first vday together on the actual day (we started dating in March 2014). He did, however, surprise me with three dozen red roses 4 days before my trip so that I could enjoy the scent and beauty of the blooming roses before I left.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
I submitted this photo for a Corgi Nation Puppy Love Contest and won a blanket for Jax. It was our first time winning any social media contest and it was pretty cool!

IMG_9481.jpg
I also had a surprise planned for Jj. I made him breakfast in bed comprised of whole wheat waffles, his favorite OJ and over easy eggs {kinda sloppy looking}, chicken sausages, an acai bowl, dark and white chocolate covered strawberries and a jar with 25 reasons why I love him, before I left on this trip!

IMG_9774
Enjoying a latte from the Orange Couch in Marigny, a small neighborhood next to the French Quarter where two of my coworkers stayed in at a bed and breakfast. One of my favorite things to do when traveling is finding good coffee.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Some of our company events were held at the Eiffel Society, which sat right in front of St. Charles Avenue where all the floats strolled by.

The French Quarter:

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 10.41.48 AM

IMG_9927

IMG_9876
Snagged a selfie on the way out before starting the day!

IMG_9847
Although I’m not a fan of fried foods, we had to have fried chicken and waffles for lunch one day. When in NOLA, right? Honestly, it tasted like Popeyes and being something that I don’t eat often, it was delicious to me!

IMG_9853
While running errands near Jackson Avenue, I noticed that I drove by the Coven House from American Horror Story (season three; my favorite one!).

IMG_9851
I had to make a stop to get some photos!

IMG_9953
Madame Delphine LaLaurie’s mansion from the same season.

IMG_9928
Cool things I came across in the cute shops at the French Market.

IMG_9882
Complementary breakfast from our hotel.

IMG_9787
Company dinner at Orleans Grapevine Bistro in the French Quarter. I can’t remember the name of this Creole dish, but the pawns were delicious!

IMG_9789
The French Quarter at night

IMG_9783

IMG_9823We made a mandatory visit to Cafe Du Monde for the famous beignets. Twice.

IMG_9828

IMG_9934

My most memorable foodie experience in NOLA was brunch at Cafe Carmo. Everyone from the company gathered for a last lunch at a healthy, multi-cultural fusion restaurant before heading back to Los Angeles.

when in NOLA
The dishes we tried were Broken Noodle Salad, Carmo Salad and Esmeralda Salad (Quinoa, black beans, corn, peppers and cilantro tossed with coconut chili lime vinaigrette, toasted pumpkin seeds and cotija cheese).

IMG_9983
Creole flavored crispy Armenian bread with havarti cheese, shrimp, scallions, onions, bell peppers, and tomatoes.

IMG_9989
Souvenirs for Jj’s nieces and nephews.

IMG_9993
Made yet another mandatory stop before the flight. My Smoothie King was so delicious! I wished we had more smoothie spots like this.

IMG_9994

10 thoughts on “mardi gras mmxv

    • Thank you! I stumbled upon them while cleaning my hard drive of photos and am very glad I had a chance to recap. Happy to hear that it brought back memories for you too.

      • 🙂 maybe one day you should just try it, you may surprise yourself 🙂 (I have never made them myself either, or even looked at a recipe for them! they just are so yummy:-) ) Enjoy the rest of your week 🙂

      • One day. Maybe if I do start baking desserts, beignets will have to be my first. Have a wonderful week!!

  1. Ahhh…all these wonderful foods. It’s always great to go travelling and try out different foods even if they might not be the healthiest. Sometimes you just got to indulge right?

    Great travel post! Looking forward to more of these!

    xoxo,
    Stephanie

  2. I am a big proponent of healthy eating. I also believe that BALANCE is required for GOOD HEALTH. Participating in cultural events and enjoying their style of eating is a wonderful way of satisfying the 10-20% comfort eating I describe as part of balanced eating. Your trip looked like a lot of fun. Congratulations on your relationship and its future success. Stay healthy and happy.

Leave a Reply

